Procurement Services

Training and Testing

FlexCard Program Administration offers a series of training classes which are announced via periodic email notifications.  Unless otherwise noted, all training classes are conducted in the Purchasing Conference Room, SAASB 3203G.

FlexCard training classes are limited to 10 seats per class. Enrollment is on a first-come, first-served basis. Registration for classes is via the UC Learning Center.  For first time users, instructions on how to log onto the UC Learning Center, find and enroll in classes are provided in a series of how-to videos on the homepage.

Currently, classes are offered for Department Administrators, Cardholders and Reviewers/Allocators.

Training Dates

Training Dates for Department Administrators

This class is required for new Department Administrators.  Unlike other classes, it is held bi-monthly due to low demand.  It provides an overview of the FlexCard Program and the policies and procedures that govern it.

Day Date Time
Tuesday May 2, 2017 1:30p - 3:00p
Thursday June 8, 2017 2:00p - 3:30p
Friday July 7, 2017 9:00a - 10:30a
Tuesday August 1, 2017 10:00a - 11:30a
Wednesday September 6, 2017 2:00p - 3:30p
Thursday October 5, 2017 9:00a - 10:30a
Monday November 6, 2017 10:00a - 11:30a
Friday December 8, 2017 2:00p - 3:30p

Current PowerPoint Department Administrator Training Presentation

Training Dates for Cardholders

This class is required for all new FlexCard Cardholders. It provides an overview of the FlexCard Program and the policies and procedures that govern it.

Day Date Time
Wednesday May 17, 2017 1:30p - 3:00p
Tuesday June 20, 2017 9:00a - 10:30a
Monday July 17, 2017 10:00a - 11:30a
Tuesday August 15, 2017 10:00a - 11:30a
Wednesday September 20, 2017 2:00p - 3:30p
Monday October 16, 2017 9:30a - 11:00a
Wednesday November 8, 2017 2:00p - 3:30p
Monday December 18, 2017 2:00p - 3:30p

Current PowerPoint Cardholder Training Presentation

Training Dates for Reviewers/Allocators

This class is required for all new FlexCard Reviewers and Allocators. It provides an overview of the FlexCard Program and the policies and procedures that govern it.

Day Date Time
Thursday May 11, 2017 1:30p - 3:30p
Tuesday June 13, 2017 9:00a - 11:00a
Monday July 10, 2017 10:00a - Noon
Tuesday August 8, 2017 2:00p - 4:00p
Thursday September 14, 2017 2:00p - 4:00p
Wednesday October 11, 2017 1:30p - 3:30p
Tuesday November 7, 2017 10:00a - Noon
Wednesday December 13, 2017 2:00p - 4:00p

Current PowerPoint Reviewer/Allocator Training Presentation

Testing

Each Cardholder, Allocator and Reviewer must take and pass the exam corresponding to his/her role before participating in the FlexCard program. (Department Administrators, unless they are also filling the role of Reviewer, do not have to take an exam.)

Exam certifications are valid for one year, expiring on the last day of the same month the following year. For example, if a Cardholder passes the Cardholder exam on February 15, 2012, his/her certification is valid through February 28, 2013.

Annual Re-Recertification

Each FlexCard Cardholder, Allocator and Reviewer must complete annual re-testing in order to maintain his/her program status.  The Management Module sends a reminder email notification two months, one month, two weeks and, if necessary, one week prior to expiration of exam certification.

FlexCard Exams

There are two FlexCard exams, one for Cardholders, with a focus upon commodities and allowable purchases, and a Reviewer/Allocator exam, with a focus upon allocation of expenses and use and sales tax issues.

Both FlexCard exams are accessed through the FlexCard Management Module.

  1. Log onto the FlexCard Management Module at https://flexcardmanagement.ets.ucsb.edu/ using your UCSBnetID and password.
  1. On the Main Menu, click EXAM.
  1. On the Participant Exam Menu, click TAKE EXAM.
  1. On the FlexCard Exams screen, select the exam that corresponds to the role that you will be performing in the FlexCard Program.

For complete instructions on how to take an exam, submit it for scoring and initiate a Reviewer, Allocator or Cardholder Application, consult the FlexCard Management Module Manual.*